• Undergrad and NGWA Scholar Erin Gray Featured in NGWA Newzine

    Photo Erin Gray
    Tuesday, August 18, 2015
    (previously published at HWR website in 2015) Kudos to Erin Gray, a new undergraduate student in Environmental Hydrology and Water Resources! Recently, Erin was named a recipient of the Len Assante Scholarship from the National Ground Water Association.  She will receive her award  beginning with the Fall Semester 2015.  Erin's remarkable path to the field of hydrology was recently featured in the National Ground Water Association Newszine.  You can read her inspiring story here. Read More
  • Peter Troch Appointed Inaugural Haury Chair in Environment and Social Justice

    Photo Peter Troch
    Tuesday, September 23, 2014
    Our warmest congratulations go to Dr. Peter A. Troch, HWRS Professor and Biosphere 2 Science Director, who has been appointed as one of four inaugural Haury Chairs in Environment and Social Justice!  [Note: Faculty fellows in this program serve for two years.] Sponsored by the Agnese Nelms Haury Program, UA Foundation, the Haury Chairs in Environment and Social Justice honor and reward outstanding UA faculty members who work on environment, social justice, and/or the southwest.  Along with Alison Deming, Professor of English, Takeshi Inomata, Professor of Anthopolgy, and Xubin Zeng, Professor... Read More
  • Congratulations to Hoshin Gupta, 2014 EGU John Dalton Medalist

    Photo Hoshin Gupta
    Tuesday, July 15, 2014
    (previously published in 2014 on HWR website) A huge round of applause and our warmest congratulations go to Dr. Hoshin Gupta, HWRS Professor, recipient of the 2014 European Geosciences Union John Dalton Medal!    The Dalton Medal was presented by the European Geosciences General Assembly* on April 29 in Vienna, Austria, and awarded to Gupta "for his seminal contributions to systems approaches to hydrologic science, for training a large number of outstanding young scientists, and for unselfish stewardship of hydrologic science and practice on a global scale.” Professor Gupta was nominated by... Read More
  • Alum Paul Hsieh Wins 2014 AGU Ambassador Award

    Monday, July 14, 2014
    (Previsouly published in 2014 on HWR website) Our warmest congratulations go to Dr. Paul Hsieh, HWRS Alumnus (MS ‘79 & PHD ‘83), on receiving the 2014 American Geophysical Union Ambassador Award*.  Hsieh will receive the award at the American Geophysical Union’s Honors Ceremony and Banquet to be held December 17, 2014, during AGU’s annual fall meeting in San Francisco, California.    As his colleague and former dissertation advisor, Dr. Shlomo Neuman, observed, "this honor is extremely well deserved and made in recognition of Paul’s extraordinary accomplishments throughout his 30+ year c... Read More
  • Peter Troch Awarded 2011 John Dalton Medal from the EGU

    Photo Peter Troch
    Wednesday, January 1, 2014
    (previously published in 2011 on HWR website) Peter A. Troch, Professor of Hydrology and Water Resources, has been named the recipient of the European Geophysical Society's 2011 John Dalton Medal for his seminal contributions to hydrology in the areas of modeling, remote sensing, and development of new ecohydrologic theories. Through his outstanding publication record, and through participation in and leadership of several international research initiatives, Troch has become a world leader in his field. Of particular note is his pioneering work on the hillslope-storage Boussinesq model and a r... Read More