Title Committee Description Committee Chair Members
Academic Committee

Work related to undergraduate and graduate curricula and degree programs

Chris Castro
Ave Arellano, Eyad Atallah, Ali Behrangi, Brittany Ciancarelli, Xiquan Dong, Ty Ferré , Guo-Yue Niu, Lupe Romero, Dale Ward, Martha Whitaker, Jim Yeh
Admissions Committee (Academic Sub-Committee)

Work related to graduate admissions

Christopher Castro, Ty Ferré
Awards & Scholarships for Students

Work related to the nomination of student awards, encompassing scholarships available to students enrolled in the HAS department and awards offered by the College of Science

Jennifer McIntosh and Eyad Atallah
Bo Guo, Lupe Romero, Yang Song, Peter Troch, Marek Zreda
Awards (Staff & Faculty)

Work related to the nomination of staff and faculty awards

Peter Troch and Avelino Arellano
Laura Condon, Xubin Zeng
Development & Industrial Affiliates

Promote philanthropic support for the department's research, teaching and outreach programs via Alumni, Advocacy and Corporate Relations 

Thomas Meixner, Christopher Castro, HAS Advisory Board
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI)

Larry Winter
To be announced
El Día

Advisors for El Día del Agua y la Atmósfera, the spring event showcasing student research in Schools of Earth & Environmental Sciences/COS and Natural Resources & the Environment/CALS

HAS Student Association
Executive Committee

Advisors to the department head on academic, business, finance, infrastructure, and personnel matters

Tom Meixner
Chris Castro, Martha Whitaker, Xubin Zeng
HAS Seminar

Coordinator of the department's weekly colloquium series featuring invited speakers. 

Bo Guo
Promotion and Tenure Committee

Work related to the evaluation of faculty annual reviews and the  promotion and tenure of tenure-track faculty members.

Xiquan Dong
Ty Ferré, Larry Winter, Xubin Zeng