• NASA Awards $30M Five-Year Grant to Armin Sorooshian and Xubin Zeng

    Wednesday, October 3, 2018
    Our warmest congratulations go to HAS Joint Professor and PI Armin Sorooshian and HAS Professor and Deputy PI Xubin Zeng on their newly funded NASA project! NASA has just announced funding for the $30M five-year collaborative project to study cloud-aerosol interactions over the Western Atlantic. Collaborators include scientists and engineers from NASA's Langley Research Center and several other universities, research centers, and laboratories. Funding comes from NASA's Earth Venture-class program which funds projects investigating important but not well understood aspects of Earth system proce... Read More
  • David Gochis, UA HAS Alum and NCAR Scientist, Named AMS Fellow

    Photo Alumnus David Gochis
    Tuesday, October 2, 2018
    Bravo to David Gochis, UA HAS alumnus and NCAR scientist, who has been named a 2019 American Meteorological Society Fellow for his "outstanding contribution to atmospheric and hydrologic sciences through his career." David is currently the NCAR principal investigator on the WRF-Hydro Modeling System, an open-source community model that predicts streamflow and surface hydrology variables across the continental United States operating as the NOAA National Water Model. Gochis, who has presented seminars, guest lectured, and served on graduate exams in the HAS department, completed his Ph.D. in hy... Read More
  • Eric and Luise Betterton Host the Annual Welcome Party!

    Photo Annual Betterton Welcome Party Fall 2018
    Wednesday, August 22, 2018
    (Left to right): Luise Betterton, Kathleen Meixner, Tom Meixner, Eric Betterton, Rebecca Winter, Larry Winter, Ginger Zeng, and Xubin Zeng. The Annual Betterton Welcome Party for the Fall Semester 2018 was a smashing success! Eric and Luise Betterton hosted more than 120 faculty, staff, and new and continuing students at their home in Tucson on Saturday, August 18. The monsoon rains that threatened the event never materialized, so after an early evening swim, those new to the university got their first taste of Tucson's delicious Mexican food (pico de gallo mandatory, spicy salsa optional). T... Read More
  • Jennifer McIntosh Featured in PawPrints for the UA Parents and Family Program

    Photo Jennifer McIntosh
    Wednesday, August 15, 2018
    Regents Professor Hoshin Gupta has penned a delightful article about Jennifer McIntosh for PawPrints, the online newsletter for the UA Parents and Family Program. The article reveals McIntosh's commitment to balancing family life, teaching and research, and mentoring her young students. For those new to the department, Jennifer McIntosh is a University Distinguished Scholar, a tenured Professor of Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences, a joint faculty member with the UA Geosciences department, and an Adjunct Research Geologist with the U.S. Geological Survey. Kudos to Hoshin, for writing this fin... Read More
  • A Tribute to Benjamin (Ben) M. Herman

    Monday, July 16, 2018
    Dr. Benjamin M. Herman, Professor and Department Head Emeritus, Atmospheric Sciences c.2000 Dr. Benjamin (Ben) M. Herman, a Professor Emeritus in the Department of Atmospheric Sciences, and the Institute of Atmospheric Physics at the University of Arizona, passed away in Tucson on June 8, 2018. Early Education Ben earned both his B.S. and his M.S. in meteorology at N.Y.U. and served as a United States Air Force meteorological officer in Alaska. After his stint in the USAF, Ben enrolled in the Ph.D. program at the University of Arizona, and, in fact, the department awarded him its very first P... Read More