Faculty Highlights: Congratulations to Ali Behrangi Promotion and Tenure

Dr. Behrangi joined the Department of Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Arizona as an Associate Professor in January 2018, after working for more than 6 years as a scientist at NASA JPL. Dr. Behrangi currently leads the Remote Sensing of Water Cycle and Hydrometeorology (RSWatCH) research group and is an executive committee member for the U of A's Earth Dynamics Observatory (EDO). He also serves in U of A's faculty senate.

Image Photo A Behrangi Behrangi has a broad interest in various topics related to hydrology, water resources, and atrmospheric sciences. His areas of expertise include remote sensing of the water cycle, precipitation retrieval and analysis, weather and climate extremes (extreme precipitation, drought, heatwaves) and societal impact, hydrologic modeling and optimization, global water and energy budget analysis, machine learning, applied sciences, and climate change.

Behrangi is currently leading a few projects including a $2.7 million NASA project to advance the Global Precipitation Climatology Project (GPCP) over high latitude regions. GPCP is a global observational precipitation product that has become a science community standard, having been used in over 5000 journal articles. He also leads another project to use various independent observations from NASA (and other agencies) to improve precipitation estimate in high latitudes, where the signals of climate change are large. The project is innovative as it brings together observations that have not been used for precipitation estimation in the past. Other projects are listed in his webpage.

Behrangi has been a lead member of the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP) weather and climate extreme grand challenge, member of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO)/WCRP joint Expert Team on Climate Change Detection and Indices (ETCCDI), and has been active in the international precipitation working group (IPWG). He is a fellow of the Kavli Frontiers of Science, National Academy of Sciences, and recipient of several awards including the NASA New Investigator Program award (2014), NASA Early Career Achievement Medal (2016), and the University of Arizona Distinguished Scholar recognition and title (2020).

« Spring-Summer 2021 Newsletter Home | < Previous Topic | Next Topic >