Updated! Hoshin Gupta Elected Fellow of the American Meteorological Association

Photo HAS Regents Professor Hoshin Gupta
Wednesday, August 21, 2019

Our warmest congratulations go to HAS Regents Professor Hoshin V. Gupta who has been elected Fellow of the American Meteorological Association!

Gupta will be formally recognized on Sunday evening, January 12, 2020, at the Presidential Forum and Awards and Fellows Presentation, an event which will kick off the week-long Centennial Celebration of the American Meteorological Society Annual Meeting in Boston.* AMS Fellows are elected in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the atmospheric, oceanic, or hydrologic sciences during a substantial period of years.

Updated! 2020 AME Awards and Honors Recipients--including Award and Medal Winners, Honorary Lecturers, and Elected Fellows--have now been listed on the official AME symposium website.

Gupta has a long history of excellence in teaching, mentoring, and research. The American Meteorological Society recognized his significant contributions to both meteorology and hydrology with the Robert E. Horton Lecturership in 2017. He received the European Geophysical Union's John Dalton Medal in 2014, was named a University of Arizona College of Science Galileo Fellow in 2014, and was elected Fellow of the American Geological Society in 2009. A former editor for Water Resources Research, he has been named on the Clarivate Analytics' Most Highly Cited Researchers List (Cross-Field) for the past two years, 2017 and 2018. In 2015, he received the University of Arizona Graduate College Teaching and Mentoring Award, and he has received countless HAS Super Hero "Aqua Man" Teaching Awards, beginning in 2006 through the current year--he was a recipient in Spring 2019!

Congratulations, Hoshin, for this well-deserved recognition!

*Please note that, unlike prior AMS Annual Meetings, this year's awards ceremony will be held on Sunday evening due to the special Centennial Celebration scheduled for Wednesday evening.