Peter Troch Appointed Inaugural Haury Chair in Environment and Social Justice

Photo Peter Troch
Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Our warmest congratulations go to Dr. Peter A. Troch, HWRS Professor and Biosphere 2 Science Director, who has been appointed as one of four inaugural Haury Chairs in Environment and Social Justice!  [Note: Faculty fellows in this program serve for two years.]

Sponsored by the Agnese Nelms Haury Program, UA Foundation, the Haury Chairs in Environment and Social Justice honor and reward outstanding UA faculty members who work on environment, social justice, and/or the southwest.  Along with Alison Deming, Professor of English, Takeshi Inomata, Professor of Anthopolgy, and Xubin Zeng, Professor of Atmospheric Science, Troch will hold this title for the inaugural five-year appointment period.

Dr. Peter Troch is a surface water hydrologist whose current research involves seasonal, decadal and climate predictions of water availability in semi-arid river basins, as well as developing research infrastructure to investigate Critical Zone processes across climate gradients.

He is Science Director of UA Biosphere 2, a member of the editorial board of Hydrological Processes, editor of special issues in Advances in Water Resources and Journal of Hydrometeorology, and was associate editor of Water Resources Research. He has publis­hed over 140 papers in refereed interna­tional jour­nals dealing with (flash) flood forecas­ting, catchment classification and similarity, land slide and debris flow modeling, remote sensing applica­tions in hydrology and data assimilation, climate variability and climate change impacts on water availability, and the role of vegetation on hydrologic partitioning at catchment scales. He has been involved in several international airborne and spaceborne remote sensing experiments in hydro­logy.

Troch was the recipient of the 2011 John Dalton Medal awarded by the European Geophysical Union for his seminal contributions to hydrology in the areas of modeling, remote sensing, and development of new ecohydrologic theories. Prior to coming to the UA in 2005, he was Chair of the Hydrology and Quantitative Water Management group of Wageningen University, the Netherlands.

Our warmest congratulations go to Peter for this outstanding and well-deserved recognition!