Extraordinary Student Scholars and Leaders for 2018-2019

2018-2019 Student Scholars and Leaders
Monday, July 9, 2018

Early in May--just before final exams--a small but select group of students was called to a mysterious meeting with Dr. Martha Whitaker, Associate Professor of Practice and Director of Graduate Studies, only to be whisked down the hallway to find a overflowing assembly of cheering students, faculty, and staff waiting to celebrate them as this year's extraordinary student scholars and leaders!

Following the announcement of the individual awards by Dr. Tom Meixner, Associate Department Head, the shocked but happy group enjoyed a delicious cake with ample lashings of cold milk.

We owe an immense debt of gratitude to our founding faculty scholars whose work and lifetime achievements inspired these endowments AND to our wonderful alumni and donors whose contributions maintain them, so we extend a huge THANK YOU to everyone who has contributed, past and present.

For the upcoming year, Fall 2018-Spring 2019, a fantastic group of young men and women will join the rosters of these prestigious awards. Rest assured, the future of hydrology and atmospheric sciences is in good hands! 

Scholars and leaders, left to right:

John and Margaret Harshbarger Doctoral Fellowship in Subsurface Hydrology

  • Chloe Fandel

Eugene S. Simpson Scholarship in Groundwater Hydrology

  • Adriana Arcelay

Sol D. Resnick Scholarship for Graduate Research in Hydrology

  • Rebecca Stolar

Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences Extraordinary Leadership Awards

  • Katarena Matos (HASSA Vice President and Coordinator, 2018 El Día del Agua y la Atmósfera)

Philip Krider Endowed Fellowship in Atmospheric Sciences

This year's award was bestowed by Professor Emeritus Phil Krider who joined the festivities!

  • Jack Eyre

Donald R. Davis Endowment Scholarship for Undergraduate Excellence

  • Sheila Solis-Arroyo

Chester C. Kisiel Scholarship for Application of Statistics in Hydrology

  • Erin Gray

Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences Extraordinary Leadership Awards

  • Victoria Hermosilla (HASSA President and Coordinator, 2018 El Día del Agua y la Atmósfera

Shlomo and Yael Neuman Graduate Scholarship in Hydrology 

 The inaugural year!

  • Yu-Li (Eric) Wang  (not pictured in photo)

Our warmest congratulations to our extraordinary student scholars!