2022 El Dia's Success!

Tuesday, March 22, 2022

Bravo, Well Done, Congratulations, Take a bow!

El Día del Agua y la Atmósfera was a complete success!  Your contribution as a sponsor helped us achieve this success, and we are forever grateful for your participation!  We appreciate your attendance, be it in person or virtual.  We hope you enjoyed your day with students, faculty, alumni, and guests!  We appreciate any feedback regarding the event and ask that you fill out this short survey: Click Here for Survey

Below is a recap of the successful day, more information and pictures are being uploaded to the dedicated, student-run website created by Reza Ehsani.  You can also click here for the 2022 Program, and click here to view photoes of the event.

After many months of preparation and hard work, the 2022 El Día del Agua y la Atmósfera student research conference took place during Earth Week on Tuesday, March 22 at the Environmental Science and Natural Resources (ENR2) Building. The day-long event featured fabulous posters, outstanding oral presentations, and congenial networking among students, faculty, alumni, friends, and visiting students. We're pleased to report that the event was a resounding success! 

The day began with a breakfast reception made possible in part by the Campus Sustainability Fund and was followed by opening remarks from HAS Department Head, Dr. Tom Meixner, and the El Dia Student Coordinator, Robert 'Quinn' Hull.

Recognition was given to Dennis R. Scheall, retired Director of Instruction and Research Support for Hydrology & Water Resources.  Dennis was the organizer of the first annual El Dia del Agua (EDDA) in 1991.  Dennis was handed the “simple” task of organizing this event from scratch in a year’s time with one overriding objective – to make it a success.  He did make the first EDDA a success with everyone who attended the event – students and faculty in Hydrology & Water Resources (HWR) and from other departments, alumni, and professionals from industry, consulting firms, and non-governmental and governmental agencies.  View and read more about Dennis Scheall in our  2022 Program.   

El Dia Keynote Panel Spekers 

Janene Yazzie of Sixth World Solutions, Sandy Fabritz of Freeport McMoRan, and Terri Sue Rossi of the Arizona Water Company presented a very engaging Keynote Panel, which was moderated by student Mekha Pereira.

This was followed by the first poster session in the scenic ENR2 courtyard. 

The first oral presentation session, moderated by student Alcely Lau, preceded lunch upstairs. The luncheon featured a nice talk by Steve Waters, HAS alumnus and Flood Warning Branch Manager at Flood Control District of Maricopa County. The luncheon event was moderated by student Brandon Mitchell.  Following lunch, activities included two oral presentation sessions, moderated by Abigail Kahler and Hannah Haugen respectively, and an additional poster session.

 El Dia Career Conversation Speakers

The penultimate piece of programming featured a career conversation between alumni Alyssa Kirk, Eleonora Demaria, Jon Rohr, and Waters and moderated by Alcely Lau.

 Congratulations to all our winners!  At the end of the day, 17 students were recognized with awards and prizes for their outstanding efforts starting with our Legacy Awards:

 El Dia Legacy Winners

 Sponsors, Faculty, and Legacy award winners pose together to conclude El Dia 2022! From left to right: Derek Groenendyk (Montgomery and Associates), Amanda Triplett, Ben West, Danielle Rehwoldt, Dr. Tom Meixner (Department Head, Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences), and Jim Davis (Hargis+Associates).  See more photos from the event here.

 Legacy Awards & Winners

Montgomery Prize- A Legacy Sponsor, Errol L. Montgomery & Associates, Inc., prize for the most outstanding oral presentation of the event - $2,500 Prize

Amanda TriplettClimate Warming-Driven Changes In The Cryosphere And Their Impact On Groundwater-Surface Water Interactions In The Heihe River Basin


Hargis Awards - A Legacy Sponsor, Hargis+Associates, Inc., awards for the most outstanding technical presentations (poster format) of the event

First Prize - $1,000 Award - Ben West - Implementing reservoir operations in ParFlow, a fully integrated physical hydrology model

Second Prize - $400 ward - Danielle Rehwoldt - Hydrochemical assessment of rare earth elements in various formation water types in the Paradox Basin


Benjamin M. Herman Award - Department-sponsored award for excellence in technical presentation in the area of Atmospheric Sciences (oral format) - $1,000 Prize

Reza Ehsani - Nowcasting-Nets: Representation Learning for Satellite-based Precipitation Nowcasting using Convolutional and Recurrent Neural Networks


Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences Awards of Excellence 

Department-sponsored award for excellence in technical oral presentation - $400 Prize

Mostafa Javadian - Canopy temperature is regulated by ecosystem structural traits and captures the ecohydrologic dynamics of a semiarid mixed conifer forest site

Department-sponsored award for excellence in technical poster presentation - $400 Prize

Adam Stratman - Origins and Residence Times of Water Supporting O’Donnell Creek Cienega in Southeastern Arizona


Donald R. Davis Undergraduate Distinction Award - Outstanding undergraduate student award sponsored by the Donald R. Davis Endowment - $400 Prize

Stella Heflin - Bias-Adjusted Satellite-Based and Reanalysis Products Show Agreement in Estimating North American Monsoon Season Precipitation


Eugene S. Simpson Undergraduate Prize - Poster Content Hydrogeology or Subsurface Hydrology, Outstanding undergraduate poster award sponsored by the Eugene S. Simpson Endowment - $400 Prize

Dylan Girone - A Forecast Evaluation of the North American Summer Monsoon Precipitation near Arizona in Recent Years


Corporate Awards & Winners

Sponsors, Faculty, and Corporate award winners pose together to conclude El Dia 2022!   

Corporate Sponsors and Winners

Photo below, from left to right: Georgia Waters (Matrix New World Engineering), Bo Svoma (Salt River Project), Luis de la Fuente, Lauren Cutler, Camillo Salcedo, Diana Hsieh, Dr. Tom Meixner (Department Head, Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences). See more photos from the event here.

  • Arizona Hydrological Society - Best Hydrology Oral Presentation -  Diana Hsieh
  • Pima County Flood Control - Outstanding Oral PresentationPatricia Puente
  • Salt River Project - Outstanding Oral Presentation Luis De la Fuente
  • Stanley N. Davis Outstanding Poster in Hydrology, Sponsored by Peter Mock Groundwater Consulting, Inc.Xenia De Garcia
  • Matrix New World Engineering -Outstanding Oral Presentation - Sidian Chen
  • Tucson Water Outstanding Excellence in Technical Communication in Poster Format Danielle Tadych
  • GeoSystem Analysis, Inc. - Best Applied Hydrogeology Oral Presentation  Chandler Noyes
  • Pima County Department of Environmental Quality- Best Oral – Camilo Salcedo; Poster Awards – Lauren Cutler

Thanks to everyone who worked so hard to prepare for the day's events. You guys made this event. Although many folks dedicated hours of time - special thanks is deserved for Abigail Kahler, Alcely Lau, Reza Ehsani, and Erma Santander for especially heavy lifts! 

Merci ~Gracias ~ Danke ~ Arigato ~ Thank you!


We are grateful to all our sponsors for the day's events. 

Thank you again for your contributions and making our day a success!


The El Día Planning Committee

Leadership:Quinn Hull, Alcely Lau,Reza Ehsani,Abigail Kahler
Student Support: Stella Heflin,Hannah Haugen,Sidian Chen