Ravindra Dwivedi Receives 2017 AGU Horton Research Grant

Photo Ravindra Dwivedi
Monday, August 7, 2017

Ravindra Dwivedi Receives 2017 AGU Horton Research Grant

Our heartiest congratulations go to Ravindra Dwivedi, HAS doctoral student, who has been selected to receive the 2017 AGU Horton Research Grant. He will receive his award in a formal ceremony at the AGU Annual Conference in San Francisco this December. This nationally competitive award recognizes superior achievement in research related to hydrology, water resources, and closely related fields. The awards are limited to one to three students annually.

Dwivedi's doctoral research, directed by Tom Meixner, Professor and HAS Associate Department Head, is using a multi-tracer approach coupled with numerical models to characterize and improve understanding of water sources and flowpaths contributing to streamflow in high elevation mountain catchments. Dwivedi presented a poster and oral presentation on this topic at the 2017 El Día del Agua y la Atmósfera, the HAS department's annual student research conference.

Dwivedi completed a Master of Science degree in hydrology at New Mexico Tech in 2009, a Bachelor of Technology in mining engineering from the Institute of Technology (Banaras Hindu University) in 2004, and plans to complete his UA doctoral dissertation by May 2018.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~

Congratulations, Students, for Another Successful El Día del Agua y la Atmósfera!

March 2017

EarthWeek 2017 started off with a bang, as the students from the Department of Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences organized another successful El Día del Agua y la Atmósfera. The annual student research conference, held in the Student Union Memorial Center's Grand Ballroom, was bigger and better than ever!

This year's event featured HAS graduate and undergraduate students who made 13 Oral Presentations--including our HAS department representative for the EarthWeek Plenary oral competition--and 22 Poster Presentations--including several from local high school students representing The Gregory School in Tucson and the Immaculate Heart High School in Oro Valley.

A robust and invigorating Round Table Discussion, focused on the broad topic of communicating the science of climate change, had four breakout groups and was moderated by Chris Castro and Peter Troch, Jennifer McIntosh and Hoshin Gupta, Tom Meixner and Ty Ferré, and Martha Whitaker and Brittany Ciancarelli. The smaller groups discussed four subtopics:

Should we be moving towards more applied sciences to better address societal changes?  Do we need to change the way we, as scientists, are educated by broadening or adding more soft skills/social science?  To what extent do scientists need to be involved in decision making?  How much responsibility do scientists hold for increasing public understanding and awareness of scientific/environmental issues?

Our luncheon speaker, Amber Sullins, Chief Meteorologist with ABC15 in Phoenix, Arizona, and our afternoon keynote speaker, Scott Denning, Monfort Professor of Atmospheric Science at Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colorado, inspired the audience--truly--with their talks on the urgency and the profound importance of better communicating the science we do

Following all talks and poster sessions, this year's student and faculty awards were presented:

Montgomery Prize Winner - Alissa White

Best oral presentation - Certificate and Award $2000 - Legacy Sponsor: E.L. Montgomery & Associates, Inc.
Judges: Jon Whittier, Martha Whitaker, Austin Carey

Hargis Awards - Neha Gupta (1st) & Nicole Weber (2nd)

Best technical presentation via visual communication (poster) - Certificate and Award $1000 (1st) and $400 (2nd) - Legacy Sponsor: Hargis+Associates, Inc.
Judges: Leo Leonhart, Dennis Scheall, Tim Corley

Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences Awards of Excellence - Tyler Rockhill (oral) & Furrukh Bashir (poster)

Best oral and poster presentations (excluding Montgomery and Hargis awardees) - Certificate and Award $400 each
Judges: (Oral) Hsin-I Chang, William Holmgren, Dick Thompson & (Poster) Matej Durcik, Suzy Stillman, Yang Cao

Donald R. Davis Undergraduate Distinction Award - Erin Gray

Outstanding undergraduate award (academic or research) - Certificate and Award $400
Judges: James Washburne and Thomas Galarneau

Eugene S. Simpson Undergraduate Poster Award - Mekha Pereira

Best undergraduate poster in hydrogeology, subsurface hydrology, or groundwater - Certificate and Award $400
Judges: James Washburne, Thomas Galarneau

High School Student Poster Presenters

Certificates of Participation for all winning entrants
Evaluators: Rachel Tucci, Rodrigo Valdés-Pineda

Aqua Person Awards - Jennifer McIntosh, Thomas Meixner, & Ave Arellano

HAS Outstanding Faculty Instructor Awards selected by entire HAS student body:  Trophy Figures of Storm (X-Men), AquaMan (DC Justice League), and Captain Planet (Turner/DIC Entertainment) awarded to Dr. Jennifer McIntosh, Dr. Tom Meixner, and Dr. Ave Arellano, respectively. The figures denote their awesomeness, not necessarily their areas of expertise.

Scholarship and Fellowship Awards

John W. Harshbarger Doctoral Fellow - Alissa White

Chester C. Kisiel Fellow for Applied Statistics in Hydrology - Rodrigo Valdés-Pineda

Sol D. Resnick Graduate Scholar - Yi Nan

Donald R. Davis Undergraduate Scholars - Jack Anderson, Nicole Weber, Mekha Pereira, Erin Gray

A huge THANK YOU to all our wonderful and generous sponsors, the organizers (students, faculty, and staff), and to our experienced judges. We could not have a successful event without your continued encouragement and support.

Congratulations, again, to all of our student and faculty winners.  Well done!

~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~

HAS Graduate Student Receives NSF Fellowship

September 2016

Congratulations to Hydrology MS Graduate Student, Katarena Matos, who will receive a National Science Foundation Bridge to Doctorate Fellowship.  Katarena, who completed her BS in Environmental Hydrology at the UA in May 2016, was selected amoung a list of distinguished graduate students for her potential to obtain a Ph.D., which is the objective of the program.  BRAVO Katarena!!

~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~ 

Official Haboob Report Published

July 2016

Congratulations to Aishwarya Raman, HAS graduate student, and co-authors of the newly published National Weather Service Report #290. Blowing Dust and Dust Storms: One of Arizona's Most Underrated Weather Hazards. Finally, a concrete report on Arizona haboobs! Congratulations as well to co-authors Glenn Lader, Jeffrey Davis, and Ken Waters.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~ 

HASSA Student Officers Elected for AY2016-2017

May 2016

Please welcome the newly elected officers for the Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences Student Association for the coming year!  They include:

  • Tirthankar Roy, President
  • Tim Lahmers, Vice President
  • Tao Liu, Treasurer
  • Mohammad Moghaddam, Social and Fundraising Chair
  • Jack Eyre, Social and Fundraising Chair
  • Erin Gray, Undergraduate Representative
  • Mekha Pereira, Undergraduate Representative

~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~ 

College of Science Graduate Student Awardees for 2016

April 2016

Applause, applause! Congratulations to our 2016 College of Science Graduate Student Awardees in Scholarship, Service, and Teaching.  Department of Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences awardees include:

  • Rodrigo Valdes (Hydrology-Teaching)
  • Ben Paras (Hydrology-Scholarship)
  • Brianna McClure (Hydrology-Service)
  • Kerrie Geil (Atmospheric Sciences-Service)
  • Timothy Lahmers (Atmospheric Sciences-Teaching)
  • Wenfu Tang (Atmospheric Sciences-Scholarships)